RSS

Perspective

03 Jul

A couple of times in the past few days, I’ve seen Facebook friends share a photo with a version the following message:

“I was going to complain about the heat, but then I remembered that there are US soldiers in desert countries carrying lots of gear and being shot at.”

I get the sentiment that these people are trying to convey. That the current discomfort caused by the heat is nothing compared to what someone else might be going through.

But why aren’t they posting:

“I was going to complain about something my mother said, but then I remembered that upon ‘coming out’, 1 in 4 LGBT youth become homeless.”

Or:

“I was going to complain about having to wait 45 minutes for a table at this restaurant, but then I remembered that in the richest country in the history of the world 25% of children in the United States are in poverty and many of those kids will go to bed tonight with dinner.”

We live in a country where a great many of us have our basic needs met on a daily basis. We don’t worry whether we have a bed to sleep in or food to eat. And these same people are suffering in the heat too.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
