RSS

The joke isn’t as funny as you think it is

03 Jun

We’ve all heard the joke.

“All marriages are same-sex marriages. Because after a few years it’s always the same sex.”

“Gays should have the right to be just as miserable as the rest of us.”

And I want you to know something about these jokes.

They’re not funny.

I know the comedian thinks he’s being funny. Or that the comedienne is using humor to try and show support for my equality.

But I’m going to be a wet blanket. The joke isn’t funny. I’ve written about why getting married is important to me. About all the protections that come along automatically with that change in legal status. And when a comedian tries to show their support for my cause by belittling the thing I’m fighting for, it makes me angry.

Because my parents have been happily married for 30 years, and while I know there have been bumps in the road, their lives have never seemed miserable.

And I just want the chance to be as happy as they are.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
